James River's Cameron Hildebrand was picked as a first-team outfielder on the VHSL Class 2 softball team by a panel of coaches.

Second-team picks from Timesland schools were Olivia Yates, Aimee Whitlow and Hannah Vest of Floyd County; Glenvar's Lydia Taylor and James River's Lacey Lucado.

Richlands pitcher Mac Osborne was named player of the year.

Ronnie Davis of Richlands was named coach of the year after the Blue Tornadoes won the state title.


First team

Pitcher -- Mac Osborne, Richlands, jr.; Sabrina Foltz, Page County, sr.; Emily Seal, Madison County, jr.; Catcher -- Dallas Basinger, Nottoway, sr.; First base -- Samantha Hensley, East Rockingham, jr.; Second base -- Kaitlyn Baldwin, Richlands, jr.; Third base -- Maddie Gordon, Page County, soph.; Shortstop -- Jasia Miles, Amelia County, sr.; Designated player/flex -- Alyssa Boelte, Nottoway, soph.; Outfield -- Hannah Comfort, Amelia County, soph.; Brooklynn Fridley, Page County, sr.; Cameron Hildebrand, James River, sr.; Chloe Newberry, Richlands, jr.; Utility -- Haylee Dye, John Battle, sr.

Second team

Pitcher -- McKenna Falwell, Nottoway, sr.; Olivia Yates, Floyd County, soph.; Adrienne Morrison, Lebanon, soph.; Catcher -- Alex Mantz, Central-Woodstock, sr.; First base -- Lydia Taylor, Glenvar, soph.; Second base -- Aimee Whitlow, Floyd County, jr.; Third base -- Tatum Dye, Lebanon, soph.; Shortstop -- Lacey Lucado, James River, soph.; Designated player/flex -- Samantha Spradlin, Buffalo Gap, jr.; Outfield -- Madison Varney, Lebanon, sr.; Kolby Abel, Nottoway, sr.; Sophie Adams, Madison County, jr.; Hannah Vest, Floyd County, sr.; Utility -- Kaitlyn Capps, Strasburg, jr.

Player of the year

Mac Osborne, Richlands.

Coach of the year

Ronnie Davis, Richlands.

Load comments